Field of participants Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2017 complete


Dmitri Andreikin will be the 14th player in the Tata Steel Masters and Eric Hansen the 14th player in the Tata Steel Challengers, the Tata Steel Chess Tournament organisation announced today.

The participation of the Russian and Canadian grandmasters completes the field of participants of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2017. According to the agreement with players’ union ACP the last spots in the Tata Steel Masters and Tata Steel Challengers were to go to the highest ranked players of the ACP Competition with a rating below 2750 and 2650. But these grandmasters, Ian Nepomniachtchi and Gawain Jones, had already been confirmed as participants in theTata Steel Chess Tournament 2017. The 79th edition of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament takes place in Wijk aan Zee from 13 – 29 January 2017.

Dmitri Andreikin (26) ranks 22rd on the world list. Andreikin has belonged to the group of players right below the world top for years, but will participate for the first time in Wijk aan Zee in January. The Russian was youth world champion in 2010 and became Russian champion two years later. He qualified for the Candidates Tournament in 2013, which determines who will be allowed to challenge the world champion. In 2014 Andreikin won the Fide Grand Prix Tournament in Tashkent, surpassing players like Nakamura, Caruana, Vachier-Lagrave, Giri and Karjakin.

Canadian grandmaster Eric Hansen (24) is not only a strong chess player, but also appreciated for providing commentary at big tournaments. Hansen will participate in the Tata Steel Chess Tournament for the first time. He was one of the stars of the Chess Olympiad in Baku earlier this year, scoring 9 out of 11.


List of participants Tata Steel Masters 2017

Name Rating World ranking Country
Magnus Carlsen 2840 1 Norway
Wesley So 2794 5 United States
Sergey Karjakin 2785 6 Russia
Levon Aronian 2785 7 Armenia
Anish Giri 2771 10 The Netherlands
Pentala Harikrishna 2770 11 India
Ian Nepomniachtchi 2767 13 Russia
Pavel Eljanov 2762 14 Ukraine
Radoslaw Wjtaszek 2749 18 Poland
Dmitri Andreikin 2737 22 Russia
Richard Rapport 2717 30 Hungary
Wei Yi 2707 38 China
Loek van Wely 2696 44 The Netherlands
Adhiban Baskaran 2666 86 India


Average rating: 2753


List of participants Tata Steel Challengers 2017

Name Rating Year of birth Country
Markus Ragger 2689 1988 Austria
Ilia Smirin 2669 1968 Israel
Gawain Jones 2667 1987 England
Jeffery Xiong 2666 2000 United States
Nils Grandelius 2643 1993 Sweden
Lu Shanglei 2627 1995 China
Jorden van Foreest 2605 1999 The Netherlands
Erwin l'Ami 2605 1985 The Netherlands
Eric Hansen 2603 1992 Canada
Benjamin Bok 2598 1995 The Netherlands
Aryan Tari 2584 1999 Norway
Vladimir Dobrov 2499 1984 Russia
Tingjie Lei 2468 1997 China
Sopiko Guramishvili 2370 1991 Georgia


Average rating: 2592