Two five-time winners in Tata Steel Masters in 80th edition


World champion Magnus Carlsen and former world champions Viswanathan Anand, Vladimir Kramnik and Hou Yifan will participate in the Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2018. Both Carlsen and Anand have won the Tata Steel Chess Tournament five times. They will face grandmasters like Anish Giri, Wesley So (2017 winner), Fabiano Caruana, Vladimir Kramnik, Sergey Karjakin and Hou Yifan in Wijk aan Zee in January. The 80th edition of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament will take place in Wijk aan Zee from 12 – 28 January 2018. 

Exciting competition

Jeroen van den Berg, director of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament: “The 80th Tata Steel Chess Tournament looks set to become a beautiful jubilee event. I am particularly pleased that four world champions are participating. The presence of Kramnik and Anand in this jubilee edition is very special, since it has been a few years since they played in Wijk aan Zee. Magnus Carlsen is still the world’s number one player, but his lead has shrunk. The battle for victory can become very exciting. Especially Anish Giri is very keen to win in front of a home audience, thus stepping in the footsteps of Jan Timman, the last Dutchman to win the Tata Steel Chess Tournament (in 1985). Gawain Jones has been promoted from the Tata Steel Challengers, which he won this year.” The 13th grandmaster will be announced in November and the 14th a month later, when it is known who will be the highest ranked player in the ACP Competition with a rating under 2750 on 1 December. The participants of the Tata Steel Challengers will be announced in November.

Preliminary list of participants Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2018, Tata Steel Masters


Name Country Rating World Ranking
Magnus Carlsen Norway 2826 1
Fabiano Caruana   USA 2794 4
Vladimir Kramnik          Russia          2794                5
Shakhriyar Mamedyarov Azerbaijan  2791 6
Wesley So      USA 2788 7
Viswanathan Anand India               2783                9
Sergey Karjakin Russia 2765 12
Anish Giri    Netherlands 2762 13
Wei Yi China 2740 18
Hou Yifan      China 2678 64
Adhiban Baskaran India 2671 75
Gawain Jones  England 2662 83