Announcement Challengers Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2020


Today’s announcement of the grandmasters of the Tata Steel Challengers means that the field of participants of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2020 is now complete. Both groups contain quite a few talented young players, who have the potential to rattle the cage of the establishment. In the Tata Steel Masters Anish Giri and Jorden van Foreest represent the Netherlands. The latter’s brother Lucas will participate in the Tata Steel Challengers once again. Other Dutchmen in the Tata Steel Challengers are Erwin l’Ami, Jan Smeets and Max Warmerdam.

Stronger field of participants

Tata Steel Chess Tournament director Jeroen van den Berg: “The field of participants of the Tata Steel Challengers 2020 will be stronger than those of previous years. With an average rating of 2,600 and 14 participants the group is a full-fledged grandmaster tournament of its own.” A large group of young talented players will make life difficult for the world’s top players. Among them are six teenagers: Abdusattorov (15), Sarin (15), Smirnov (18), Lucas van Foreest (18), Keymer (15) and Warmerdam (19). Lucas van Foreest is the reigning Dutch champion. Max Warmerdam has been promoted from last year’s Top-Nine-Round Event, which will be called Tata Steel Qualifiers from now on. Dinara Saduakassova is the only female participant. She obtained her first grandmaster result on the Isle of Man in October, as a result of which she rose to 11th position on the world ranking for female players. First time contenders in the Tata Steel Challengers are Guijarro, Mamedov, Abdusattorov, Sarin, Smirnov and Warmerdam

Participants Tata Steel Challengers 2020

Name                                      Country            Rating            

David Anton Guijarro                 Spain               2686

Nils Grandelius                         Sweden             2681

Pavel Eljanov                           Ukraine              2655

Rauf Mamedov                         Azerbaidzjan      2648

Surya Shekhar Ganguly            India                 2644

Nodirbek Abdusattorov             Uzbekistan         2633

Erwin l’Ami                              Netherlands       2623

Nihal Sarin                              India                 2612

Jan Smeets                            Netherlands        2596

Anton Smirnov                       Australia             2573

Lucas van Foreest                  Netherlands         2531

Vincent Keymer                      Germany            2518

Dinara Saduakassova              Kazakhstan        2505

Max Warmerdam                     Netherlands       2501